California›Schools›Independence High

Independence High

PublicRegularټولګي درجې 9–12
Bakersfield, California · Kern High
SCHOOL SNAPSHOT
زده کونکي زده کونکي 2,324
د ST نسبت 26.0:1
FRL75%
د لومړي سرلیک INo
Performance

Independence High — Academic Performance

Standardised assessments, graduation outcomes and college-readiness metrics for Independence High in Bakersfield, California.

Headline Indicator
—
Data not yet captured
Science (CAST)
California Science Test, percentage meeting or exceeding the standard, 2025
CAASPP
37%
Met or exceeded the standard
2025
7%
Exceeded the standard
588
Students tested
GradeMet or exceededExceededTested
Grade 1138%8%570
Grade 126%0%18
Source: test_scores, CAASPP science results for 2025. Percentages are of students with a reported score. Results for very small groups are suppressed by the state and show as -.
Results by Student Group
CAASPP 2025, percentage meeting or exceeding the standard for each reported student group
Student groupEnglish Language ArtsMathematicsScience
All students
66%
581 tested
19%
578 tested
37%
588 tested
Gender
Female
73%
271 tested
18%
271 tested
35%
277 tested
Male
61%
310 tested
19%
307 tested
39%
311 tested
Race and ethnicity
Asian
81%
36 tested
40%
35 tested
62%
39 tested
Black or African American
66%
44 tested
12%
43 tested
34%
41 tested
Filipino
77%
13 tested
38%
13 tested
71%
14 tested
Hispanic or Latino
64%
373 tested
17%
373 tested
32%
380 tested
White
69%
88 tested
18%
87 tested
47%
87 tested
Two or more races
71%
17 tested
18%
17 tested
35%
17 tested
Socioeconomic status
Economically disadvantaged
65%
439 tested
17%
436 tested
34%
446 tested
Not economically disadvantaged
71%
142 tested
24%
142 tested
46%
142 tested
English learners
Reclassified fluent English proficient
76%
168 tested
21%
167 tested
42%
168 tested
Initial fluent English proficient
86%
14 tested
36%
14 tested
57%
14 tested
Ever an English learner
74%
171 tested
20%
172 tested
40%
178 tested
Never an English learner
63%
410 tested
18%
406 tested
36%
410 tested
English only
62%
396 tested
17%
392 tested
35%
396 tested
Disability
Students with disabilities
28%
43 tested
7%
43 tested
12%
43 tested
No reported disability
70%
538 tested
20%
535 tested
39%
545 tested
Parent education
Parent not a high school graduate
73%
33 tested
18%
34 tested
31%
36 tested
Parent high school graduate
61%
131 tested
13%
132 tested
36%
126 tested
Parent some college
65%
134 tested
17%
134 tested
35%
134 tested
Parent college graduate
68%
165 tested
19%
160 tested
39%
167 tested
Parent graduate school
76%
59 tested
42%
60 tested
52%
61 tested
View 14 further student groups reported by the state
Student groupEnglish Language ArtsMathematicsScience
Not armed forces family member
66%
581 tested
19%
578 tested
37%
588 tested
Not migrant education
66%
580 tested
19%
577 tested
37%
587 tested
Not homeless
67%
577 tested
19%
574 tested
37%
584 tested
Not foster youth
67%
576 tested
19%
574 tested
37%
581 tested
Fluent English proficient and English only
67%
578 tested
19%
573 tested
38%
578 tested
Hispanic or Latino (Econ. Disadvantaged)
64%
300 tested
17%
299 tested
29%
304 tested
Hispanic or Latino (Not Econ. Disadvantaged)
67%
73 tested
18%
74 tested
42%
76 tested
Parent education declined to state
66%
58 tested
11%
57 tested
30%
63 tested
White (Econ. Disadvantaged)
70%
46 tested
11%
45 tested
49%
47 tested
White (Not Econ. Disadvantaged)
69%
42 tested
26%
42 tested
45%
40 tested
Black or African American (Econ. Disadvantaged)
61%
33 tested
9%
33 tested
26%
31 tested
Asian (Econ. Disadvantaged)
77%
31 tested
30%
30 tested
58%
33 tested
Two or more races (Econ. Disadvantaged)
64%
14 tested
21%
14 tested
36%
14 tested
Black or African American (Not Econ. Disadvantaged)
82%
11 tested
--
Source: test_scores, CAASPP 2025 student group breakdown. Groups the state suppresses for privacy, or that are too small to report, show as - rather than zero. Groups overlap, so the figures do not sum to the all students row.
English Learner Proficiency (ELPAC)
English Language Proficiency Assessments for California, summative overall performance, 2025
2025
38%
Level 4, well developed
The level used towards reclassification
2025
69%
Level 3 or 4, moderately or well developed
71
English learners tested
GradeTestedLevel 1Level 2Level 3Level 4Level 3 or 4
Grade 92814%14%14%57%71%
Grade 101921%16%42%21%63%
Grade 111323%8%54%15%69%
Grade 12119%18%27%45%73%
Level 1 Minimally developed. Level 2 Somewhat developed. Level 3 Moderately developed. Level 4 Well developed.
View ELPAC by student group (16 groups)
Student groupTestedLevel 1Level 2Level 3Level 4Level 3 or 4
No Special Education Services6818%12%31%40%71%
Economically Disadvantaged6015%12%33%40%73%
ELs enrolled 12 months or more5914%14%32%41%73%
Hispanic or Latino5018%14%30%38%68%
Primary language: Spanish5018%14%30%38%68%
EL - 6+ years in program410%10%34%56%90%
Male3921%15%36%28%64%
Female3213%13%25%50%75%
LTEL310%13%35%52%87%
Asian1718%18%29%35%65%
EL - 1 year in program1553%13%20%13%33%
Primary language: Punjabi1414%14%36%36%71%
Not Economically Disadvantaged1127%27%18%27%45%
EL - less than 1 year in program9-----
ELs enrolled fewer than 12 months9-----
EL - 2 years in program4-----
Source: school_elpac, California Department of Education summative ELPAC 2025. Percentages are of English learners with a reported overall performance level. Grades and groups too small to report are suppressed by the state and show as -, which is not the same as zero.
Graduation Rate
High-school adjusted cohort graduation rates — most recent year
View graduation by subgroup (119 rows)
YearCohortSubgroupCohort Size% Grad
20254YRAll Students in School · All53493%
20254YRAsian · All32100%
20254YRBlack (not Hispanic) African American · All4698%
20254YRChildren with disabilities · All6881%
20254YREconomically Disadvantaged · All45393%
20254YREnglish Learner · All5491%
20254YRFemale · All25292%
20254YRFoster care students · All1464%
20254YRHispanic/Latino · All34692%
20254YRHomeless · All2383%
20254YRMale · All28294%
20254YRWhite or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All9090%
2024—All Students in School · All59693%
20234YRAll Students in School · All60094%
20234YRAsian · All4694%
20234YRBlack (not Hispanic) African American · All4293%
20234YRChildren with disabilities · All8080%
20234YREconomically Disadvantaged · All49095%
20234YREnglish Learner · All5596%
20234YRFemale · All31497%
20234YRFilipino · All13100%
20234YRFoster care students · All1479%
20234YRHispanic/Latino · All38296%
20234YRHomeless · All1567%
20234YRMale · All28691%
20234YRNot Reported · All1283%
20234YRWhite or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All8990%
20224YRAll Students in School · All54095%
20224YRAsian · All3291%
20224YRBlack (not Hispanic) African American · All4293%
20224YRChildren with disabilities · All7686%
20224YREconomically Disadvantaged · All42995%
20224YREnglish Learner · All3692%
20224YRFemale · All27697%
20224YRFoster care students · All1377%
20224YRHispanic/Latino · All32595%
20224YRMale · All26493%
20224YRNot Reported · All2095%
20224YRWhite or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All10397%
20214yr_ACGRAll Students · All Students in School49894%
20214YRAll Students in School · All49894%
20214YRAmerican Indian/Alaska Native/Native American · All4—
20214YRAsian/Pacific Islander · All39—
20214YRBlack (not Hispanic) African American · All4285%
20214YRChildren with disabilities · All6567%
20214YREconomically Disadvantaged · All38693%
20214YREnglish Learner · All2870%
20214YRFoster care students · All8—
20214YRHispanic/Latino · All30596%
20214YRHomeless · All8—
20214YRMulticultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All21—
20214YRWhite or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All8792%
20204YRAll Students in School · All50295%
20204YRAsian · All28100%
20204YRBlack (not Hispanic) African American · All3892%
20204YRChildren with disabilities · All6082%
20204YREconomically Disadvantaged · All37495%
20204YREnglish Learner · All3987%
20204YRFemale · All24698%
20204YRHispanic/Latino · All30195%
20204YRMale · All25693%
20204YRMulticultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All18100%
20204YRWhite or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All10596%
20194YRAll Students in School · All50295%
20194YRAmerican Indian/Alaska Native/Native American · All3—
20194YRAsian · All3795%
20194YRBlack (not Hispanic) African American · All3895%
20194YRChildren with disabilities · All6084%
20194YREconomically Disadvantaged · All37495%
20194YREnglish Learner · All3984%
20194YRFoster care students · All675%
20194YRHispanic/Latino · All30195%
20194YRHomeless · All675%
20194YRMulticultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All1890%
20194YRWhite or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All10597%
20184YRAll Students in School · All50495%
20184YRAmerican Indian/Alaska Native/Native American · All2—
20184YRAsian · All4184%
20184YRBlack (not Hispanic) African American · All3995%
20184YRChildren with disabilities · All5464%
University Eligibility and Diploma Seals
A to G course completion and diploma seals for the 2025 four year adjusted cohort
2025
40%
Met UC and CSU entrance requirements (A to G)
Eligible to apply to a UC or CSU campus
2025
14%
State Seal of Biliteracy
2025
35%
Golden State Seal Merit Diploma
2025
5%
Cohort dropout rate
Cohort of 534 students. 93% graduated (CDE cohort measure, 2025). 0% still enrolled.
View A to G completion by student group (12 groups)
Student groupCohortGraduatedA to GBiliteracyDropout
All Students in School53493%40%14%5%
Economically Disadvantaged45393%38%14%6%
Hispanic/Latino34692%38%18%6%
Male28294%35%11%4%
Female25292%45%17%6%
White or Caucasian (not Hispanic)9090%44%4%7%
Children with disabilities6881%11%4%7%
English Learner5491%12%22%6%
Black (not Hispanic) African American4698%36%0%2%
Asian32100%53%19%0%
Homeless2383%11%16%13%
Foster care students1464%11%0%21%
View earlier cohorts (3 years)
Cohort yearCohortGraduatedA to GBiliteracyGolden State SealDropout
202360094%36%9%38%3%
202254095%45%10%48%3%
202050295%36%10%34%2%
Source: school_grad_outcomes, California Department of Education four year adjusted cohort outcomes for 2025. A to G refers to the subject requirements a student must complete to be eligible to apply to the University of California and California State University systems. Rates the department suppresses for small cohorts show as -.
SAT / ACT Participation
College-readiness exams from CRDC and state files
CRDC 2021
16
CRDC: total SAT/ACT takers
Sources: state assessment files (EDFacts), school_graduation_v2 (NCES adjusted-cohort), school_sat_act + CRDC SAT/ACT.